Beethoven and Bernstein

Saturday, March 28, 2009 - 7:30 p.m.
Jim Rouse Theatre


Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92
Leonard Bernstein - Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Alexander Arutiunian - Trumpet Concerto
Jean Sibelius - Violin Concerto, 1st movement
Luigi Boccherini - Cello Concerto, 1st movement

About the Concert

Though Beethoven's contemporaries criticized its lack of melody, Wagner acknowledged Beethoven's Seventh as "the apotheosis of the dance." Although Bernstein was warned his show didn't have a single "hit" before its premiere, these dance numbers have become among Broadways' most well-known tunes. As a highlight to every season we pair the great voices of the past with our youngest virtuosos, the winners of our 2009 Young Artist competition.


  • Acadia Kocher, trumpet; Winner of the Young Artist Competition Senior Wind Division
  • Evangeline Chandran, violin; Winner of the Young Artist Competition Junior Division
  • Shing Ann Yeh, cello; Winner of the Young Artist Competition Senior String Division