conductor and soloist

Confessions Of The Soul

May 18, 2024 at 7:30 p.m.
pre-concert in the box
6:30 p.m.

Join us for a concert of three very different pieces that share a musical journey, from reflection to a celebration of life. Jennifer Higdon’s blue cathedral is a musical memorial to her younger brother, in which a duet is weaved in an imagined cathedral of crystal pillars and stained glass. Natalia Vilchis is the soloist in Edward Elgar’s elegiac Cello Concerto, written in the wake of the First World War. The concert ends with Sibelius’ Second Symphony – a piece he described as his “confession of the soul.” This intriguing exploration of the composer’s musical personality concludes with a triumphant theme filled with optimism.  

conductor sponsored by:

Scroll to Top