Chamber Concert One: Columbia Orchestra Piano Trio

Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 3:00 p.m.
St. Francis of Assisi Parish

Columbia Orchestra Piano Trio


Johannes Brahms - Piano Trio No. 1
Maurice Ravel - Sonata for Violin and Cello
Zhou Tian - Piano Trio

About the Concert

Join the Columbia Orchestra Piano Trio — Brenda Anna, violin, Nancy Smith, piano, and Jason Love, cello — for an afternoon of marvelous music. Perfectionist Johannes Brahms almost destroyed his early B-Major Piano Trio, but Clara Schumann pleaded to save the work. His revised version has become one of the best-loved pieces in the chamber repertoire.

Dedicated to Debussy, Ravel's Sonata for Violin and Cello is a micro-symphony for two virtuosos. Maestro Love compares it to "two young lovers sharing intimate moments, private jokes, occasional furor, and deep passion." The concert opens with the local premiere of a lush, impressionist Piano Trio by Chinese-American composer Zhou Tian.

Thanks to the generosity of our host, we are able to offer free admission. Donations to support the Chamber Series are appreciated. The concert will last approximately one and a half hours including intermission.

Support the Columbia Orchestra

Help support Your Community's Music by making an online donation now.