2022-2023 SEASON

Higdon and Tchaikovsky

Jim Rouse Theatre

Saturday, October 15, 2011 - 7:30 p.m.

Winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for her Violin Concerto, Jennifer Higdon has created a Percussion Concerto that elicits standing ovations wherever it is performed! It is "full of joyous music making, a wondrous world of sounds and colors, thrilling in its epic sections and mesmerizing in intimate moments." (News and Observer) Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony is one of his most powerful statements in this form, and Copland's historic Fanfare rounds out the program.

Aaron Copland - Fanfare for the Common Man

Jennifer Higdon - Percussion Concerto

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 5 in E Minor


Howard County Center for the Arts
8510 High Ridge Road
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: 410.465.8777
Email: info@columbiaorchestra.org

for members