From the Past to the Present

Saturday, June 6, 2009 - 7:30 p.m.
Jim Rouse Theatre


Johannes Brahms - Symphony No. 4
Tan Dun - The Map

About the Concert

Two great composers explore what it means to be part of a musical tradition. Building on the enthusiasm for our performance of Tan Dun's Paper Concerto, this mixed-media cello concerto bridges the ancient world with our technological era as Chinese folk musicians perform on video along with our live Western orchestra. And was Brahms the most traditional or progressive composer of his age? His last symphony says "yes" to both!

Support the Columbia Orchestra

Help support Your Community's Music by making an online donation now.