Sibelius' First

Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 7:30 p.m.
Jim Rouse Theatre


Franz Joseph Haydn - Sinfonia Concertante
Jean Sibelius - Symphony No. 1
Joan Tower - Made in America

About the Concert

Part meditation on America, the Beautiful, orchestras across the country co-commissioned this modern masterpiece from one of America's most respected living composers. Then we feature soloists from your own Columbia Orchestra in one of Haydn's most beautiful works. Finally, we travel to Finland in one of Sibelius's most gripping, romantic works.


  • Monica DeLeon, Bassoon
  • Brenda Anna, Violin
  • Jason Love, Cello

Support the Columbia Orchestra

Help support Your Community's Music by making an online donation now.